One week until Halloween! Eeek! We are so excited at our house, and my five year old boys ask at least ten times every day how many more days until Halloween arrives! The costumes and the candy....oh, the candy. We end up with SO much!! I have a little girl with Celiac Disease and can't have gluten, so being aware of the gluten free Halloween candy is really important.
I've read through several gluten-free and Celiac dedicated sites, because they always post candy information about this time of year. I was able to compile a list of popular Halloween candy that is listed by their manufacturers as gluten-free, which will be very helpful when all that candy comes home! If you are also looking for candy that's gluten-free, hopefully this list will help you as well.
That said, always check labels for verification, and contact the manufacturer directly with any questions or doubts. There can be changes in ingredients, or even the facility, which cause a gluten-free candy to not have that status anymore.
One other thing to keep in mind--often times there will be related candies and one will be gluten-free, so you assume that the others will be too. That's not always the case, in fact, it seems as if it's the exception, rather than the rule. For example, Reeses's PB Cups are gluten-free, EXCEPT the seasonal shaped ones. Almond Joy are gluten-free, but NOT the Joy pieces, and Rolo are gluten-free EXCEPT the mini variety. It's vital that you check the labels of each separate candy, even if you think they're the same, or very similar.
This list is meant to be a guideline--a place to start looking! You can always visit the manufacturer's website--they will have a place where they address allergens and gluten-free concerns. Calling them if in doubt is important, or if you think something has changed--getting it directly from the source is the most accurate. Gather the information, then make the best decision for you.
Sites of Reference and Sources:
Here's to happy and safe trick-or-treating!